Inside NHPHA: NHPHA Thanks You for Successful Annual Meeting

Inside NHPHA

A Monthly Column Written by NHPHA Leadership

NHPHA Thanks You for Successful Annual Meeting

written by Marcella Bobinsky, HMP, NHPHA President

Marcella Bobinsky resizedIt is always a joy to celebrate organizational achievements and thank accomplished professionals. The 2019 NHPHA Annual Meeting provided time for us to do just that. Plus, the community was introduced to young public health professionals through the poster exhibition and the Rising Stars program. My thanks go out to all who participated, attended, sponsored, and supported the first silent auction.

At this meeting, the Board of Directors has the honor of naming annual award winners for the following categories:

Roger Fossum Lifetime Achievement Award: Audrey Knight

Audrey Knight

NH Community Health Service Award: The Union Leader
Union Leader

Friend of Public Health Award: Sally A. Kraft, MD, MPH (not pictured)

Rising Star Award: Kelley Gaspa (not pictured)

Outgoing President Rebecca Sky gave the President’s award to Katie Robert and Neil Twitchell.
Katie NHPHA Award

Congratulations to the recipients. You each bring a talent and passion to the work that you do every day. Thanks to those who nominated these outstanding individuals and the organization.

Cassie YackleyCassie Yackley, PsyD, was the Keynote Speaker. She focused her talk on adverse childhood experiences, their impact, and the opportunities that public health has to develop resilience in our children.

Sixteen graduate and undergraduate public health students from six New Hampshire universities presented the results of their research projects. The posters were scored by public health professionals. Graduate student Vanessa Grunkemeyer and undergraduate student Sage Lincoln received the highest scores. They both received free registration to the New England Public Health Conference. 

awardsThree members of the 2018–2019 Board of Directors were thanked for their years of service: Tyler Brandow, Jeanie Holt, and Katie Robert.

Five seasoned professionals offered their wisdom and stories during the Career Panel, remarking on how their positions in the public health system interact with others. They spoke about their own career paths and provided suggestions on how to make a place for one’s self in public health. For more info about NHPHA's 2019 annual meeting career panel, click here.

IMG 4946The Annual Meeting and the programs of the NHPHA depend on our individual and corporate members. It is their generosity, commitment, and activism that are the lifeblood of this organization. In the past three years, under the guidance of the Board of Directors, NHPHA has accepted the challenge of championing public health policy and practice, enriching the workforce, and inspiring leaders to improve the public’s health. To that end, we have hired an Executive Director and a Workforce Development Coordinator. We continue to move forward with our three-year growth plan and strategic imperatives. This summer, we will once again convene a strategic planning session to ensure that we are listening to our members, identifying our weaknesses, and leveraging our strengths.

In 2018, NHPHA was named American Public Health Association’s “Affiliate of the Year.” This award tells us that we are doing something right and have the elements in place to make a real difference for the public’s health. The Board of Directors will be asking for your help.

I extend a very special thanks to everyone who participated and gave to the Silent Auction. Emily Goulet was instrumental in the development of this event, and we give her total credit for its success. Every new fundraising event that we undertake is one more step toward the success of NHPHA. 

Following are the officers and directors for the NHPHA Board of Directors for 2019–2020. For more information on our board members, click here.


Marcella Bobinsky, President                               Shannon Bresaw, Vice President

Lisa Bujno, President-Elect                                  Sophia Johnson, Treasurer

Rebecca Sky, Immediate Past President             Michael Reaves, Secretary


Mary Ann Aldrich                                                  Neil Twitchell

Sai Cherala                                                           Lisa Vasquez

Devinne Healy                                                      Ashley Wilder

Terry Johnson                                                       Abbott Willard

Darlene Morse                                                      Paul Janampa, Equity Leadership Fellow

Jonathan Stewart


rss2 buttons 13

Blog Archives